Museum Puri Lukisan was officially opened for public by the then Minister of Education and Cultural Affairs, Mr. Mohammad Yamin at 31st of January, 1956.
The collection started with a donation of paintings from Rudolf Bonnet. Eventually more had to follow, which were donated by different artists themselves and friends who want to help the museum. The foundation achieved in purchasing some art pieces for the collection. Thanks to the cultural agreement the Dutch government supported the return of Bonnet in 1975, who was summoned to leave Bali in 1956, to complete the building of the museum.
Museum Puri Lukisan shows with its collection (painting and woodcarvings) the important developments of Balinese arts which is unique and priceless. Nowadays within the rapid changes in the art world the museum is active in organizing exhibitions of local artists.
In this year, when both Rudolf Bonnet and Tjokorda Gde Agung Sukawati died, a great ceremony was held to honor them. Their memory lives on in the creation of Yayasan Ratna Wartha and Museum Puri Lukisan, an unforgettable contribution to the arts, for the benefit of both local and global community.